The Tuggeranong Tornadoes Gridiron Club was formed in 1993 and is only one of two remaining foundation clubs of ACT Gridiron (formerly ACTGL, ACT Gridiron League).

Established by John Crispin, the Tuggeranong Tornadoes have had a successful gridiron career having won four (4) Capital Bowl Championships and a record of nine (9) ACTG Charity Bowls in the League’s 20 year history.

The first Charity Bowl was played in 1994 between the Tuggeranong Tornadoes and the Queanbeyan Wolverines, and continued every year since with the winner receiving the Charity Bowl Shield. It is traditionally played between the previous year’s Charity Bowl winner and the defending Capital Bowl champions. As its name suggests, the Charity Bowl signifies the donation of monies by the ACTG to a local charity. The Charity Bowl was first played in 1994, but it is since 1998 that the ACTG has donated to the ACT Cancer Council in memory of a former ACT Gridiron player, Shane Gray who passed away as a result of cancer in 1996.

The Senior Men’s season is played weekly on Saturdays from August to November with the Junior competition running alongside after the Senior game’s from October.

In 2013 a Senior Women’s team  joined the Senior Men’s and Junior mixed teams on the field – a first for both the Tuggeranong Tornadoes and ACT Gridiron. The team formed mid-2012 and played their first game against Victoria’s Western Foxes Women’s Gridiron team in March 2013 where they claimed victory.

The Tuggeranong Tornadoes continue to be a force in ACT Gridiron fielding a side in both the Senior Men’s (18+) and Junior (14-18 y.o) competitions, and are looking forward to a bright and successful future.